Hello all,

I am currently in the process of starting my own recruiting business and would like to get some insight from some seasoned recruiters. I have been recruiting for 3 years and I left my firm in 12-2010 to go on my own. My plan was/is to open up more time on the phone by moving into a part time job working nights to stay afloat until I make a placement. I also have a 3 kids so phone time/planning can be a bit of a challenge in itself. I have come close to closing a deal but nothing yet. I'm starting to lose faith after 3 months with bills advancing.  Any thoughts or advice I could use in this venture?

Thanks

Joel

Views: 25426

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Joel,

Are you working on your own job orders/search assignments? When you worked for someone else, did you bring in new clients and orders? And as far as the time management, if you have to work part time at night, can you also keep most of the same hours you were working before at the firm? Then whatever you were doing in regards to the kids before should still work out.

I would think that if this is going to work as your main source of income, you need to be able to dedicate at least the same amount of time you did when working at the firm. And now you will also have to be on top of all the "other" tasks that are involved, which may have been handled by your employer before.

Do you know why those deals haven't closed? That would be a good point to start looking at what revisions to your plan you might want to make. I.e., is the client ever going to actually hire someone from you?, if it is a split partner - are they someone who you can mutually be of benefit to each other?, did the candidate decline an offer - was your understanding of them correct, do you need to ask different questions next time? .... and so on.