I was just wondering how people are using social networking sites to aid their recruitment efforts? Particulary, do you find people on places like Facebook, MySpace, LinkedIn, etc.? Are you using these sites to gain background info. on candidate? I'm new to this whole social marketing thing.

Views: 113

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

As Tom Malone (The Future of Work) said - "The age of the mass is over.... The fundamental unit of the new economy is not the Corporation but the individuall

It is essential that the recruiter engages in a more social way with their future candidates and not just the ones they want to engage with today to fill a vacancy! Make friends with people in your industry sector via the social networks using subtle marketing as you develop a relationship with them. They could be future clients or candidates.

Bull in a china shop approach will not seperate you from the mass recruitment market. If you "Want to be a Big Biller?" Facebook, LinkedIn, My Space etc are all good additions to the recruiters armoury. But don't forget to pick the phone up and make your sales calls. Social networks cannot replace the recruiters strongest tool!
Hi Debbie,
I do a lot of networking on LinkedIn, it seems to work for me. I'm not a "Myspace" fan and I have not tried FaceBook, I'll get there. I use LinkedIn to recruit candidates, find contract opportunities network and more. LinkedIn is endless but it's not the only source out there... I hope this helped.
From an executive outplacement standpoint we find that more and more recruiters are using the likes of Linkedin to source candidates and to check their credentials. Having a profile on the web it more and more key for people looking to progress in their careers. I received the following email yesterday from CMC's Research Manager: